Pages

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Moving

This incarnation of my writing has come to an end. If you like what you see here, come on over to my new site.

The Witty Lizard

Thanks for checking me out and maybe I'll see you soon.

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Well Hell...

So the BCS still sucks.

But wait... The Pokes still have a chance. Right? The answer is sort of... Auburn screwed the pooch and UGA has no chance. So, the only way for OSU to pass Bama is what, exactly?

1. Kick the shit out of the paperclips. Self explanatory, suck the fooners in case you were confused.
2. Pray for voter love. This one is complicated. The voters have to be against a rematch. The voters have to think that winning your conference means something. And the computers have to keep loving the Pokes.
3. Kick the shit out of the paperclips.

I really think the Squinky will stay away Saturday. I really do, no I mean I really really do..... OK, you other lifers understand my point. That takes care of the most important part of the equation.

Now, what about the voters? Unfortunately, there is not great answer for that. The Pokes passed Stanford in the AP poll but stayed behind Stanford and Va Tech in the USA Today poll. And this tell us nothing, I think. It does tell us that the voters are not real concerned about anything but a rematch. That sucks and may doom us to the Fiesta Bowl.... did I just say that out loud? Really? But I digress.

The hope has to be that with Bama and Stanford not playing next weekend, we have a chance to sneak up on some voters who weren't paying attention.

I am probably just a homer (ok you caught me) but I just can't understand how you get to play for the title when you can't even win your DIVISION, much less your conference. So, yell loud for UGA and pray for some justice in the world of SEC bias and teams that don't win the division....  In about a week the crazy BCS madness will be over. What will happens for the Pokes? Stay tuned....

GO POKES

Monday, November 21, 2011

Saturday Night on the Grill

So... My boy and I fired up the ole grill on Saturday. Nothing special, other than spending time with him.


We just decided about 6:30 to run to the store and get stuff for dinner... steaks on the grill. (He is quite convincing) Kinda funny that the check out lady asked if this was for the next day, it was late after all. Like I said nothing fancy, just a couple of top sirloins.


Never forget the beer friends. You'll notice that i did not. Also, make sure to ad an apetizer don't ya know... Earl Campbell's hot links. Thats them in the corner of the plates. Here is a pic of him cutting them up, my boy with a knife... yikes.


Like I always say, my kids are the light of my life. Always love to spend time with them. This weekend was me and my boy. Good times.


Sunday, November 20, 2011

BCS Madness

So, the Cowboys are not dead... Kinda.

Need serious help and suddenly I'm a huge fan of Auburn and LSU this week. As much as I didn't want to back into the 'ship, as of now I just want OSU to get a shot. ISU played well and the Cowboys did not. But we win that game 99 out of 100 times its played. Maybe I just bitter, but....

Geaux Tigers and War Eagle baby!

PS.... Squinky can't suck it because regardless of the outcomes on Turkey weekend, the Pokes win going away on December 3.

North Mesquite Class of 2012

These are my boys... Raised them up from pups. Congratulations to the North Mesquite class of 2012.



What can I say. Great group of kids who only wanted to win. And we did a lot of winning. I was a fun ride. Putting 63 on Tyler Lee. The fade to beat Desoto. T scoring on cat on the first play of multiple games. 

Great times on the field with these young men. Good luck in whatever is next on your journey....

Time of Possession is Meaningless


I get sick of people talking about time of possession. Football is about scoring and thus about moving the ball. First downs and touchdowns... I could care less, and most coaches would agree, what the TOP numbers are at the end of the game. We want to know what the SCORE is at the end of the game.


Sports writers and fans want to argue over TOP. They say things like you have to run to win and the defense is tired because they've been on the field so long. Makes for good copy, but not relevant. Defenses would get off the field if they force more punts.

This is from Homer Smith
How can it be?  The clock stops when a pass falls incomplete.  It keeps moving when a run is stopped for no gain.  Both results are zero yardage, yet, the pass kept the ball for five seconds while the run kept it for 40. 

If a team that passed only but never completed a pass played a team that ran only but never made a firstdown, the result would be a tie and both defenses would have been on the field for the same number of real minutes.  Yet, if both teams ran the same number of plays, one would have a possession time of eight times that of the other. 

Time of possession is meaningless.  It has nothing to do with keeping your defense or their offense off the field.  It has nothing to do with anything meaningful.  It is for writers and readers who feel precise when a 36:07 is compared to a 23:53. 


This from Mike Leach

NEW YORK (AP) _ Who's got time to worry about time of possession? Not Mike Leach and many other college football coaches.
Offenses have become more reliant on the pass, more capable of breaking off big plays and more likely to skip the huddle and hurry to the line scrimmage. That leaves time of possession - often a deceiving statistic - becoming less and less relevant.
 
Never was that more apparent than Saturday, when No. 10 Cincinnati and its up-tempo attack, jammed four touchdowns into about 16 minutes of possession time during a 28-20 victory against Fresno State.
At Texas Tech, Leach's "Air Raid'' offense goes no-huddle only part-time. But being so reliant on the pass - with every incomplete throw stopping the clock - the Red Raiders rank 94th in time of possession.
Not that Leach cares. To him, ball control is about plays run, first downs and third-down conversions. He says 20 first downs in a game is good target. For plays, he says, "There's not a magic number but you'd like to have more than your opponents.''
(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Saturday, November 19, 2011

Holy...

What a 24 hours in college football. Everyone loses and I mean everyone. Really good for the Cowboys. Thinking ahead for the BCS selection show tomorrow, OSU should be 4 or maybe 5. That means that if they win on December 3rd, and have a little help, they still have a shot at the title game. Holy shit... What the hell just happened? Lmfao...

By the way, I hate that everyone assumes that the Pokes are out of it. Seems to me that they are right back in the middle of it, based on all the loses today. We back in dis.....

No ones knows until 7:00 tomorrow.... I'll be back with my opinion... Promise...

On a completely unrelated note... I fired up the grill tonight. Pics and discussion tomorrow.